The workshop, the manufacturing

Authenticity, attention to detail

Each creation is a unique piece, entirely thought out, made and assembled by hand, on a soft cotton twill or a fine weave natural linen. The lampshades are set on voluptuous curved bases, designed in my workshop in Bordeaux, then turned by a talented cabinetmaker based in the Ardèche. Each leg, whether in ash or walnut, reveals its own grain.

abat-jour-broderie-illustration-couleur-télia

Lampshades

From the creation of a scene on a circular or oval format, to a thinner double-drum lampshade that highlights the entire object, every detail counts. The frame is designed to create a unity with its base, and then custom-made by a French artisan with an “Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant” certification (Living Heritage Company). The hardback lampshade is carefully bonded and its interiors are detailed with a cotton or linen braid, all handmade.

carcasse-abat-jour-faitmain-artisanat-atelier
signature-loudepray-etiquette-unique-lampe
broderie-artisanat-français-france

The embroidered illustrations

Lou de Pray deliberately strayed from tradition. For this first collection, I chose machine stitching to maintain delicate and discrete lines. A choice that was bold, risky, miles away from the happy and carefree fluidity of a pencil’s lines. It is a method that requires constant attention and a high level of precision at the moment when the needle pierces the fabric. It can be smooth and soft or bright and fine depending on the chosen thread, and its results will always vary depending on the fabric.
The silky and delicate thread is made of 100% viscose. It is a high-quality material whose origins are entirely plant-based.

broderie-machine-couleur-lampe-abat-jour
artisanat-broderie-lampe-télia-abat-jour
broderie-machine-aiguille-lin

French wooden bases

bois-tournage-noble-noyer-frêne

Exceptional woods

Most of the wood comes from upcycled sources. Using old furniture, forgotten stock, and other scraps has allowed me to use these small quantities in my first collection. Each piece of wood is meticulously selected by a carpenter, before being cut to size and trimmed to give it back its original aspect and colour. With its true nature revealed, it is then laid out, stuck together, and pared down with a chisel, before being handed to the turner.

The walnut selected by Lou de Pray gets its distinctive grain from its native and capricious land, the Ardèche region (France). Its beauty is also what makes it such a rare wood.

The European ash, “Fraxinus Excelsior”, is known for its flexibility and resistance to splitting, and is thus often used for the creation of tools and their handles. Of a naturally pearly white and pink colour, we use a black alcohol-based stain that beautifully reveals its grain.

bois-rare-précieux-pièceunique-artisanat-français
frêne-bois-encre-noir
poinçon-loudepray-marquage-chaud-unique-artisanat

L'atelier, la fabrication

De l’authenticité, de la minutie

Chaque création est une pièce unique, entièrement pensée, réalisée et montée à la main, sur un sergé de coton doux ou un lin naturel à trame fine. Les abat-jours reposent sur des pieds aux courbes voluptueuses, dessinés dans mon atelier bordelais, puis tournés par un talentueux ébéniste basé en Ardèche. Chaque pied, qu’il soit en frêne ou en noyer, dévoile son propre veinage.

abat-jour-broderie-illustration-couleur-télia

Les abat-jours

De la composition d’une scène sur un format circulaire ou ovale au double-abat-jour, plus fin, qui vient souligner l’ensemble, chaque détail compte. L’armature de l’abat-jour est pensée pour créer une belle homogénéité avec le pied de la lampe, puis fabriquée sur-mesure par un artisan français, classé “Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant”. L’abat-jour, lui, est soigneusement contrecollé, et ses finitions intérieures sont habillées d’une soutache en coton ou en lin, le tout, à la main.

carcasse-abat-jour-faitmain-artisanat-atelier
signature-loudepray-etiquette-unique-lampe
broderie-artisanat-français-france

Les illustrations brodées

C’est volontairement que Lou de Pray s’est éloignée de la tradition. Pour cette première collection, j’ai choisi le piquage machine pour ne garder qu’une ligne délicate, tout en discrétion. Un choix audacieux, risqué, loin des errances heureuses et de l’insouciante fluidité du crayon à papier. En effet, cette pratique requiert une attention de tous les instants, et un soin millimétré lorsque l’aiguille pique le tissu. Elle peut être veloutée et douce,  brillante et fine selon son fil, et réagira toujours différemment en fonction du tissu.
Le fil à broder, soyeux et délicat, est composé à 100% de viscose. Il est également de qualité haut de gamme, et d’origine végétale.

broderie-machine-couleur-lampe-abat-jour
artisanat-broderie-lampe-télia-abat-jour
broderie-machine-aiguille-lin

Les pieds en bois français

bois-tournage-noble-noyer-frêne

Des bois d'exception

La majorité du bois utilisé fait l’objet d’un upcycling : meubles tombés en désuétude, stocks oubliés et autres chutes me permettent ainsi de l’inclure en petite quantité dans cette première collection. Ce bois est soigneusement sélectionné par un menuisier puis mis à dimension, débité, et corroyé, afin de retrouver son aspect et sa teinte d’origine. Révélant sa vraie nature, il sera ensuite calepiné, collé et dégrossi à la gouge, avant de passer entre les mains du tourneur sur bois.

C’est des terres capricieuses d’Ardèche que ce noyer sauvage tire ses veinures si caractéristiques. Sa beauté en fait aussi un bois rare.

En raison de sa souplesse et de sa résistance à la flexion, le frêne,  «Fraxinus excelsior», est très souvent recherché pour la confection des manches d’outils. Blanc, légèrement rosé et nacré à l’origine, il est ici teinté de pigment noir à l’alcool, ce qui permet de sublimer son veinage.

bois-rare-précieux-pièceunique-artisanat-français
frêne-bois-encre-noir
poinçon-loudepray-marquage-chaud-unique-artisanat